Tabor is located at the altitude 237 meters in the southern part of Vojščica on the western part of Komen plateau in the middle of Karst, where the remains of the prehistoric fort from the Iron Age are located, which are archaeological heritage. The colonization of this part goes back to Antiquity. Here today lies civil cemetery, cemetery chapel, the remains of the wall, tomb of Austria-Hungary soldiers and presbytery of St. Justin church. Here used to be a tower court. In the 15. century, around the church of St. Justin, a branch church of St. Just, the anti-Turkish fort was formed. The church was in written sources mentioned in the year 1570. Tabor was built in a period of the devastation of Turks on Karst. This location was already colonized in the time of ancient Rome. In a time when the fort was formed, the estate was in possession of clan Thurn, who was from 14. century on among the most important ministerial of Gorica Counts. The construction of the castle started after the year 1483, somehow at the same time as the construction of the fort in nearby Vipavski križ. The construction was finished around the year 1550, about what testify the year, carved on the main portal of the fort.
After the danger of Turkish invasions was over, in the second half of 16. century, and after the second Austria-Venetia war, between years 1615 and 1617, the fort loses its strategic importance and because of that starts to decay. The possibility is that the alleged court in the middle of the complex was torn down, which is not indicated on the Franciscan cadastre from the year 1826. The walls of the anti-Turkish fort with four round corner towers, which most likely lost its roofs already in 18. century, were preserved until WWI.
WWI severely affected Vojščica, from demolished houses to badly damaged walls of the fort, which indicated the expansion of cemetery and the construction of mortuary. At the same time, it was badly damaged by locals, as after the war they carried away the ruins and used them for the renovation of demolished homes. But nevertheless, the extent of the fort is still clearly visible, partly preserved southern wall and presbytery of St. Justin church. A new church of St. Vid was constructed between the years 1924 and 1928 on other location in the center of the village, from the year 1952 it has the status of a parish church.
The design of the fort is documented in the Franciscan Cadastre folder from the year 1826. The entire complex stood on the elevation on the southern edge of Dolnja Vojščica or Dolnja vas. Built on the trapezoidal floor and it had four round corner towers. The walls were at first secured with defense ditch, which was 14 meters wide, on the northern and western sides. The inside of the fort was divided into three parts about the same size by the walls. Northwestern part by the entrance, in times of Turkish invasions, served as a protection of livestock, in southern part stood a church, and in the highest northeastern part of the fort was a medieval court.
Today, the internal architecture of the fort can be traced along the lines of modesty preserved foundational walls. However, the foundations found during the research could not be dated to the time of the fort, into 15. and 16. century. It is quite possible that these are younger structures. But the position speaks in favor of the fort. At the same time, it is most likely that the construction of anti-Turkish fort completely destroyed the remains of prehistoric settlement in the area within the walls. As the traces of prehistoric colonization were found only on the terrace at the foot of the southern walls of the fort. From the Baroque church, only a few meters high remains of the stone altar of the tripartite presbytery are preserved, on which, the remains from the 18. century, pilaster articulation and cornice are visible.
On the terraces just below the walls towards the church of St. Vid, rough white and black cubes of mosaic (side is around 1 centimeter) were found. In cleaning after the war, below the facade wall of the church, pavement from stone plates of irregular shape was found, which was on the east concluded by a wall, but its orientation is not consistent with the orientation of the church (north-south). The pavement was not completely refined (excavated approximately in size 4×4 meters), most likely it was not demolished but was entirely saturated. On the southern corner of the facade wall, a niche was found (in size approximately 30×25 centimeters) and in it was a human skull. The cemetery was moved from the inside of the wall in the year 1857.
The peak of the fort was strongly reshaped by ancient and medieval constructions, field terraces and fort from WWI.
|See other Iron Age sights in Slovenia!|
Floor plan of Tabor
Floor plan of Tabor with walls and fort divided into three parts. Northwestern part served as protetion of livestok, southern part with church, and northeastern with medieval court. To view the map in full size, just click on the image on the left or on the link to open it in another window. [_See the map_]
Church of St. Justin
The church was erected in the Middle Ages, somewhere in the last middle of the 15th century. It was located on the area of the former historical fort from late Bronze and Iron Age in village Vojščica. Here stood anti-Turk fort Tabor, the church was erected inside the wall its self within that time mansion. [_Read more_]
Church of St. Vid
Neoromanian church of St. Vid is located in the center of village Vojščica, which was built after 1st World War, more precisely in year 1928. It was built slightly away from the ruins in war demolished Gothic church of the same name, which was in 15th century also surrounded by a wall. [_Read more_]
Tomb of Austria-Hungary soldiers
In the village civilian cemetery, next to the former Tabor, in village Vojščica, a former tomb of Austria-Hungary soldiers is located, from which only a pyramid-shaped monument is preserved today. It is a tomb of fallen officers, members of the 96th infantry regiment from Karlovac. [_Read more_]
Vojščica is typical Karst village with some preserved Karst homesteads and wells. It is located southeast from Kostanjevica, in municipality Miren-Kostanjevica, in vicinity of Slovenia-Italian state border. In the middle of the village is church St. Vid, which was erected between years 1924 and 1928. [_Read more_]