Slovenia, officially the Republic of Slovenia (Slovene: Republika Slovenija) is a country in Central Europe. Slovenia borders Italy to the west (280 km), Hungary to the northeast (102 km), Austria to the north (318 km) and Croatia to the south and east (670 km). It also has a small portion of coastline along the Adriatic Sea (46,6 km). It covers an area of 20,273 square kilometers (7,827 sq mi) and has a population of 2.061.085 (according to the census on 1. January 2014, that is 0,1% more as a year before). The capital and largest city is Ljubljana, which is economical, cultural and political center of the country. Official and national language is Slovenian, in some areas also Italian and Hungarian, where national minorities are. Highest peak of Slovenia is Triglav with 2.864 meters.

Slovenia has its statehood justified by the Slovenian plebiscite of independence on 23. December 1990. When Slovenia declared its independence on 25. June 1991, it had to defend it with 10 day independence war. Political organization wise, Slovenia is parliamentary democracy.


Geographically Slovenia lies in Southeast Europe at the crossroads of the Alps, the Dinaric mountains, the Pannonian plain and the Mediterranean. The climate is a mixture of influences of alpine, mediterranean and continental climate. Half of its area is covered by forests, that is 1.161.812 ha (in Europe only Finland and Norway have more forests). The northwestern part of the country is dominated by Alps, with highest peak Triglav (2.864 meters). In direction to the sea straches landscape Karst. Its subterranean world is hiding most magnificent underground galleries in Europe, with hidden beauty of stalactites and stalagmites.

In Slovenia, around 11% of the territory is nature protected, by legislation. Triglav National park occupies the largest area of 83,807 ha. The diverse geological structure, the variety of terrain (from sea level to 2.864 meters above) and the fact, that Slovenia strecthes over four biogeographic regions have allowed a wealth of flora and fauna. In Slovenia grows over 3000 ferns and flowering plants, as 50.000 different animal species. In terms of biodiversity, Slovenia is a “hot spot” of Europe. It also has many plant and animal endemics, from which fauna of Karst caves with world known Proteus (human fish) stands out.

Slovenia is also a land of water. The total length of watercourses, rivers, permanent and torrential tributaries is 26.600 km. After the total amount of river water per capita, Slovenia is ranked among the richest European countries, it is almost four times above the European average.


Administratively Slovenia is divided into 210 municipalities, from which 11 have the status of city municipality: Ljubljana, Koper, Murska Sobota, Celje, Kranj, Nova Gorica, Novo mesto, Ptuj, Slovenj Gradec, Velenje


In addition to sharing on the landscapes, there are 12 statistical regions: Central-Slovenian region, Coastal-Karstic region, Drava region, Carniola region, Goriška region, Koroška region, Notranjsko-Karstic region, Pomurje region, Savinja region, Southeastern Slovenia, Spodnjeposavska region, Zasavje region



– Capital city: Ljubljana
– Anthem: 7th stanza of Zdravljica (written by France Prešeren)
– Language: Slovenian
– Government: Parliament republic
– Independence (from Yugoslavia): 25.6.1991
– Recognition: 1992
– EU accession: 1.5.2004
– Area: 20.273 km2
– Population: 2.061.085 (according to the census on 1 January 2014, that is 0,1% more as a year before)
– Currency: Euro
– Time zone: CET (UTC+1)
– Driving lane: Right
– Calling code: +386

Coat of Arms
Coat of Arms
Slovenian flag
Slovenian flag