At Ukanc by the southern coast of Bohinj lake, with shingles covered Baroque church of St. Spirit, also Holy Spirit by the Lake or worm church, is located. It stands on the clearing below the forest next to the Bohinj lake. The church was erected in the year 1743, although archive sources quote that the church stood here at least 300 years before.
The church was built in the first half of 18. century as a promise of there inhabitants, as the field in Bohinj has yielded very poorly for many years, at the same time worm destroyed all the harvest. Inhabitants of the area found their selves in distress, and at that time they vowed that they will build a church by the lake, and celebrate three Wednesdays each year, namely fourth Wednesday after Lent, Wednesday after Easter and at Pentecost. As well as that that every three years they will send collected contributions to Innichen in Tyrol. The first vow is fulfilled in the year 1743 when they built the church of St. Spirit. The second vow is still being fulfilled today, as still today these three Wednesdays hold masses in the church of St. Duh, which are always attended by many parishioners. They are called promised Wednesdays. The third vow was being fulfilled until the First World War, so in the year 1917, they sent 392 crowns to Innichen.
The church is small, elegant, bright, and built-in Baroque style. Year 1473 above the main door marks the year of its origin. It is 16 meters long and 8 meters wide. It has a masonry choir. The bell tower was erected in the same year as the church. Both, the church and bell tower, are covered with shingles. The church was whitened, as in the year 1981 during the renovation they found 12 frescoes. On the north side of the church is a special pantry, where they stored wheat and other gifts that were donated by people for promised Wednesdays, especially on Thanksgiving Sunday, when the Sunday service here is of God.
On the outside, eastern, side of the presbytery, M. Koželj in the year 1885 created a fresco of a giant of St. Christopher on the entire wall. The church has three altars: the main altar is wooden with a statue of the Most Holy Trinity (Sv. Duh). Side statues are St. Neža and St. Helena. Side, right, altar is dedicated to St. Janez Nepomuk, in it is the picture of this saint and is the work of M. Koželj from the year 1885. The altar is masonry, the nozzle is wooden. Other, left, altar is dedicated to St. Frančišek Ksaverij with his picture and is the work of M. Koželj from the year 1885. Also, this altar is masonry with a wooden nozzle. Some time ago, the chandelier was renovated, because it was worn out, which is made of crystal, and from time of the 19. century.
Until the First World War, the bell tower had three bells. After the war, only the middle bell stays, which is bronze, and weighs 250 kilograms. Bell was in the year 1766 poured by bellmaker Balthasar Schenider from Ljubljana. On it, there are images of St. Cross, Mary Help, and St. Paul with the inscription »Sancte Paule ora pro nobis«, which means »Saint Paul, beg for us«. It is the oldest bell in Bohinj. In the year 1924, the church got steel bell ”hes”, which weighs 510 kilograms. They made vestry under the bell tower.
The roof is covered with shingles in the shape of the camel’s back, the floors outside the church are stone-paved. Bell tower has onion roof, which is penetrated on all sides by explicit lines surrounded by a stone frame. The open shed is paved with river stones, above it is Mansory choir. It has gray and colorful edges and tassel border.
On the inside is a tub arch, decorated with ornaments. Statues on the side altars were stolen at the end of the 20. century. The pulpit was a simple folk product from 18. century.
|See other churches around Slovenia!|
Lake Bohinj, pearl under Triglav, is located in the Julian Alps on the southwest of the country and is the biggest natural permanent lake of Triglav National Park and at the same time in Slovenia. The lake is of tectonic origin, hollow in which it lies was shaped by Bohinj glacier. [_Read more_]
Ukanc is a small settlement on the west coast of Bohinj lake, which is located in the area of Triglav national park. According to the legend, the name Ukanc originated from the phrase ”u konc” or the end of the world, as people are supposed to believe that the world under nearby Komarča is ending. [_Read more_]
The path around Bohinj lake
The path around Bohinj lake is one of the most visited footpaths, which offers a beautiful view of Bohinj lake and its surroundings, the view on its natural and cultural heritage. We can set off or from Ribčev Laz or Ukanc, and we can decide for ourselves in which direction we will go. [_Read more_]