City of Kobarid lies on a high terrace on the right bank of the river Soča at the foot of Gradič or Grič of St. Anthony. Besides numerous more or less well preserved cultural monuments and sights, Kobarid and its surroundings are also known by the great battle in the first world war, in which combined Austro-Hungarian (among it also Slovenian) and German military forces defeated Italian army and pushed it far into the Friuli plain, to the river Piave, where fights lasted for a long time. About the fights on the very Soča front, Ernest Hemingway wrote in his famous work “A farewell to arms”.
Kobarid basin is the extended part of Soča valley, that occurred on the place, where river Soča leaves high Alps and where the valley unites with Starijsko podolje. Because of this position Kobarid has, in the transport sense, important strategic position. On the west it connects with Čedad (Cividale del Friuli) and Udine in Friuli, on north through the pass Predel with Tarvisio, on the south with Nova Gorica.
City is surrounded by mountain Stol on northwest, in the south by Matajur, and, on the other side of Soča, Krn mountain chain. It has characteristics of lumpy appearance, storey houses with Kobarid type with a touch of mediterranean architecture. Streets are very narrow, because of that they built preferable eastern bypass in the direction for Bovec in year 2007.
In direction of Robič extends a marshland called Kobarid mud, which is soaked by stream Idrija, a tributary of river Soča. Until World War I there were three mills. They started to dry the mud in year 1874 and they regulated the stream Idrija. In year 1960, the land remediation works had begun with which they gained fruitful fields and meadows. Today in Blato, there is fish farm.
From the urbanistic point of view, three old streets are characteristic for Kobarid: Volaričeva, Gregorčičeva and Krilanova. At the intersection of these three streets is a large market with parish church of the Assumption. The parish was first mentioned in years 1297 and 1306 by Kobarid vicar. The church was built in the Gothic times. Rectangular nave was expanded in years from 1824 – 1832. The marble high altar was built in year 1716 by Gorizia’s sculptor Lazzarini. Statue of a seated Mary with Jesus was probably a work of Domenico da Tolmezzo from around 1490.
On the central square Trg svobode (Square of freedom) are two monuments, of the musician Hrabroslav Volarič (B. Kalin 1952) and the poet Simon Gregorčič (J. Savinšek 1959). On the way to the hill of St. Anthony are stations of the Cross’s path equipped with Italian inscriptions. On the top is the church of St. Anthony, dedicated in 1696. The interior was painted by Tone Kralj. Around it is from a monumental ossuary of Italian soldiers from the year 1938.
Kobarid is gastronomically recognizable by Kobarid dumplings, which every Kobarid’s housewife is able to prepare; each prepares them a little differently and lives a signs on them with a finger in the middle of the dumplings. To ancestors the Kobarid dumplings meant restorative light meal between farm chores, but today it can be eaten as a dessert in Kobarid pubs and restaurants. Kobarid dumplings are made of simple steamed dough and a rich filling, of which the essential ingredient are domestic walnuts, the final taste comes from dressing from butter and bread crumbs.
|See other towns in Slovenia!|
Napoleon bridge near Kobarid
Both banks of river Soča near Kobarid, where the gorge is at its narrowest, were connected with a bridge already in ancient times. Napoleon bridge has a very rich history and is a part of the architectural heritage. In the middle ages it came under the administration of Čedad monastery. [_Read more_]
Military cementary of the fallen in the first world war. The ossuary was built in times of systematic italian arranging of military cemeteries on Gradič around the church St. Anthony. Ossuary of italian troops was completed in year 1938 and was solemnly opened on 18. September by Benito Musolini. [_Read more_]