Štanjel is located on the northeastern edge of Karst plateau, it is combined by old part or Gornja vas, which is located on the slope of Turn and newer part or Dolnja vas, which is located along the road Nova Gorica – Sežana. It is one of the oldest settlements on Karst, it was written for its old city center. It got its name after the patron of the church, St. Danijel.
Štanjel is the settlement, which was fortified on the slope of 364 meters high hump Turn, the northeastern part of Komen plateau, above the valley of Branica next to Kobdilj. The old part of the village (Gornja vas) is located on the slope of the hump, which was due to its strategic position colonized already in prehistory, and fortified in times of antiquity. It is a karstic village, which stands out from the rest of Karst villages with a similar position and shape by the size of its design, the wall with many towers and the important role of the church and castle building. The place was for the first time mentioned in written sources in the year 1402.
Its characteristic defense wall is from the 15th century, which protected the inhabitants from Turkish invasions. The city reached its peak in the 16th and 17th century, most of the architectural features of the buildings are from that period. This is why Štanjel is considered as a Perl of Karst, as it is one of the oldest and most picturesque karstic settlements. Due to its geographical position, it had an important role in Karst already from the younger Iron Age.
Štanjel has a characteristic solidified masonry, almost entirely from the stone, which adjusts to the spatial endowment. The village has grown in the shape of long building sets, which follow the layer of relief. The buildings that are leaning against each other are exploiting the benefits of the sunny, shady and protected slope. The design of all homesteads adapted to the location and character of the settlement, as it was built on terraces and its terraced layout on the hump is clearly visible. The streets of the settlement are narrow, which are expanding into small markets, in the middle of which are placed stone wells. Most of the life in Štanjel took place on a hill – village street, first houses outside the fortified settlement have emerged only in the 19th century.
The image of the city was after the First World War radically marked by the architect Max Fabiani. In the year 1923, he combined and rearranged the set of buildings and arranged Ferrari villa, complemented by a richly arranged garden with a pond and ice water. The garden was arranged by Fabiani and Enrico Ferrari, Trieste doctor and Fabiani’s brother-in-law, between the years 1924 and 1942. The garden was at the same time the completion of the larger system of water tanks and reservoirs in the settlement, as the water in Štanjel was very precious. Fabiani also rearranged the castle building, where between the years 1935 and 1945 the county seat was located, both entrances through the wall, former hotel Miramonti and military cemetery from First World War. In the of the Second World War, the settlement was partly burned, and the castle badly damaged. The renovation of the castle started in the 1960s of the 20th century and still continues today.
There have been many initiatives in recent years to renovate the old part of Štanjel. The new part of the settlement started to develop on the plane below the old city center after the Second World War. The cause for the creation of the new settlement decades ago was adverse living conditions, such as lack of electrical installation and plumbing.
THE VIEW ON SORROUNDINGS FROM ŠTANJEL
|See other villages in Slovenia!|
Villa Ferrari is a joint name for a set of houses in the eastern part of Štanjel, arranged by Fabiani for his brother-in-law Enrico Ferrari. Since the year 1920, Enrico Ferrari bought most of the houses in the complex between the tower of Štanjel wall and few more houses in another complex. [_Read more_]
Ferrari garden or garden park in Štanjel has a special meaning for Slovenia, because of its cultural, art architectural and other outstanding properties. It is located below the village wall, designed by architect Max Fabiani in the time of his mayoralty. The estate was owned by Trieste doctor Enrico Ferrari. [_Read more_]
The entrance tower or the main entrance is fortified part of the Štanjel settlement, which once was part of a defense wall. During the mayoral period, Max Fabiani restored the entrance. He expended the entrance with cement inserts. The Cobenzl family coat of arms is also on the tower. [_Read more_]
Tower of Kobdilj
Tower of Kobdilj door is located on the other side of the settlement Štanjel and belongs into the complex of villa Ferrari. The tower once protected the entrance to the settlement from Vipava valley. The tower was in the 1930s changed into dining room and a beautiful terrace by Max Fabiani. [_Read more_]
Lookout point or Gledanica
Lookout point, Slovenian Gledanica, is located on the top of Štanjel hump or Turn, which separates Karst plateau from Vipava valley. Because of its geographical location, it was an important strategic observational and control point. On the top an exceptional view to all sides opens. [_Read more_]
Military cemetery from WWI
The Austria-Hungary military cemetery is located in a small valley below Štanjel. Austria-Hungary solders and Russian prisoners are buried here, who died in nearby hospital in Štanjel castle and in auxiliary hospital buildings in vicinity. At the entrance are two stone columns with the years 1915 and 1917. [_Read more_]
Church of St. Daniel
Parish church of St. Daniel is located in the old part of Štanjel, in Gornja vas, and it is visible immediately upon entering through the castle door. The church was built between the years 1455 and 1460 in the place of an older building. It represents one of the key monuments of Gothic architecture on Karst. [_Read more_]
Church of St. Gregory
The church of St. Gregory is located on a smaller elevation above Kobdilj and is decorated with a Gothic portal and the bell tower on equisetum or bellflower. It stands in the middle of the walled cemetery. It is the late Gothic church, which was built between the years 1463 and 1464. [_Read more_]
Skoncev chapel is located on the main square or Na placu (en. On market) in lower Štanjel under the treetop of wild chestnut. It is a relatively large masonry building, which opens to the village square with a larger front separate portal and slightly lower side arches from carved stone. [_Read more_]
Fabiani path runs between Štanjel and Kobdilj, it unites several shorter walking trails, leading to favorite works of architectural creations of Max Fabiani. Max Fabiani is a known architect, who in Štanjel worked during the First and Second World War. Fabiani path starts below the old part of Štanjel. [_Read more_]
Anton Mahnič was Slovenian theologist, bishop, poet, writer, and critic of Slovenian cultural and spiritual life and editor, who was born on September 14th, 1850 in Kobdilj, in parish Štanjel on Gorica Karst, he died on December 14th, 1920 in Zagreb. Anton finished gymnasium in Gorica. [_Read more_]
Monument to Anton Mahnič
On the façade of the vestry of St. Daniel church in Štanjel is inbuilt monument to bishop Anton Mahnič. Monument is the work of Evgen Guštin. Monument was erected at 150th anniversary of his birth and the 80th anniversary of the deat of Anton Mahnič. Inscription in the engraving says IN CRUCE SALU. [_Read more_]
Branica valley is a valley of river Branica, after which the valley was named. Torrential river Branica once presented an additional water source to the inhabitants of Štanjel. The valley notches in the humps between Vipava valley and Karst plateau. It is intertwined with larger and smaller streams. [_Read more_]