Škofljica is a settlement in the municipality of Škofljica, in direct vicinity of Ljubljana Marshes. It is a roadside settlement and municipal centre along the road Ljubljana – Kočevje and along the railway Ljubljana – Metlika. Settlement was developed at the crossroads towards Ig, Kočevje and Ljubljana. Today is mainly a dormitory sleeping settlement.
ŠKOFLJICA IN SONG
Škofljica was proclaimed in the Slovenian Pop song from 1980’s, titled “I’m going up to Škofl’ca”, which tells about the problems with alcoholism. The place was known for a such sanatorium.
NAME OF THE SETTLMENT
In historical sources Škofljica occurs under the following names: Geweihten Brunn, Beim geweihten Brunnen (1784), Skofliza (1784), Skoflitz (1796), Žegnani studenec, Škofelca.
Map of Škofljica
On the map you can see the locations where the attractions of Škofljica are, with main road towards Ljubljana, Grosuplje and Kočevje and nearby settlements. To view the map in full size, just click on the image on the left or on the lin to open it in another window. [_See the map_]
Mansion was built in 16th century and was first named Gayerav or Gayerau, which means “Volture glade”. Locals called it after the foxes in the nearby forests, Lisičje, as is called hamlet in which it is located. At the mansion probably once was a mighty park, which was mentioned Glory of the Duchy of Carniola. [_Read more_]
Park Škofljica was built in the spring of 2014 and is located in the city centre. It is beautifully landscaped with tree crops, which will eventually provide shade and with enough glasslands. In the middle of the park is a circular grove with benches for resting. [_Read more_]
Church of St. Cyril and Method
The church of St. Cyril and Methodius was built in year 1986 by plans of France Kvaternik. Cross’ sweat on the south wall is the work of sculptor Stane Jarem. Statues of St. Cyril and Methodius (Method) are the work of academic sculptor Černe. On the choir hangs a painting of Anthony Marin Slomšek. [_Read more_]
National liberation struggle monument
Obelisk (1941 – 1945) is composed from stone blocks with three with nets covered relief figures on head on plane and on the side planes are names of the fallen inhabitants of Škofljica. The monument was discovered in year 1958 and stand in Škofljica, west of the municipal building. [_Read more_]
Monument of Jože Privšek
Monument of Jože Privšek was at Škofljica depicted on 17. September 2010. Jože Privšek lived for several years in Škofljica. He was an international muzikus – composer, arranger, pianist, vibraphonist and longtime leader and conductor. Until death he was ignored in the cultural field. [_Read more_]
Svarunova path is a circular hiking path that leads through places which were part of historical novel by Fran Saleški Finžgar Under the free sun, which he wrote when he served in Želimlje. The first march was organized by the Tourist association Škofljica on 25th June 1996, on the National day. [_Read more_]
Škofeljščica is a stream that springs in the nearby of Škofljica on the southeastern edge of the Ljubljana Marshes and flows through the city. The stream flows into the stream Izar, which flows into river Iščica as its right tributary, which later flows into the Ljubljanica river. [_Read more_]
Municipality Škofljica lies in the central part of Slovenia. It covers the far south-eastern edge of the Ljubljana Marshes with indentations, Želimlje valley and hilly part from Orle and Molnik, which rises towards Vrh above Želimlje to the foot of mountain St. Ahac. [_Read more_]