Kostanjevica na Krasu (en. Kostanjevica on Karst) is a smaller settlement located on Komen Karst, in municipality Miren – Kostanjevica. Kostanjevica is known as a birth place of academic painter Jože Spacal and writer Igor Torkar.
The settlement Kostanjevica na Krasu developed on a steep slope, which on the northern part ascents towards Fajtji hrib (en. Fajtji hill) (433 meters), Veliki vrh (en. Big peak) (463 meters) and Renški hrib (en. Renški hill) (449 meters), on the southern and western side it descents towards Hudi Log. The colonization of the settlement with nearby villages Opatje selo, Sela na Krasu, Temnica, Lipa, Lokvica, Korita, Hudi log and Vojščica date in prehistory. Todays Kostanjevica was for the first time mentioned in Medieval sources as Kestenholcz, it was owned by Counts of Gorica. When it was under the rule of Italians, it was named Castagnevizza.
On elevation Grmača, which rises on northeast above Kostanjevica, remains from a well-fortified fort are visible, which proves that this area was already populated in prehistory. The village church of St. Martin was built in the year 1724. The village experienced very bad times during the First World War, as it was demolished. In the Second World War, on September 29th, 1944, the invader burned the village down, at the same time they killed or transported several villagers to a concentration camp. The number of village inhabitants has been declining since the Second World War.
With various events in the village, they try to connect people as much as possible, this is why they organize various celebrations, among others Celebration of Mother’s Day, where school and kindergarten from Kostanjevica, the village choir, dance group and individuals join forces. Since the year 2011 they organize Kostanjevica Day of Youth (si. Kostanski dan mladosti).
|See other villages in Slovenia!|
Church of St. Martin
The church is located on the hill in the middle of the village Kostanjevica na Krasu, it was built in the year 1724. It is a parish church of Roman-Catholic territorial parish of Karst deanery in Koper parish. The original church was dedicated in the year 1518, mentioned in the year 1725 as clerical. [_Read more_]
Karst’s world is hiding numerous natural Karst caves. Some of them were in the time of Soča front (1915-1917) arranged for military purposes by the members of the cave-construction department of VII. Corps of Austria-Hungary army. One of these caves was later named Russian cave. [_Read more_]
In the village Kostanjevica na Krasu, was in the year 1920, built Italian ossuary in memory of Italian soldiers, who have fallen during WWI. The ossuary contained several thousand skulls and many bones, among other things, various objects were stored in the ossuary that the fallen soldiers had with them. [_Read more_]
Memorial to the fallen fighters NLA and to the fighters for freedom
In the village cemetery, next to the church of St. Martin, in the village Kostanjevica na Krasu stands the memorial to the 28 fallen fighters of NLA (National Liberation Army) and to the victims for the freedom during the year 1941 and 1945. The memorial was erected by Kostanjevica townspeople. [_Read more_]
Monument to the arson V Malnu
On January 17th, 1944, the Povodni family was denounced, and because of that the German army cruelly abused the locals of the village Kostanjevica na Krasu. They rushed father Jožef, mother Pavla, daughter Marijo with her children and Vera into the mill building. [_Read more_]